Sunday, November 13, 2011

The Kieslowski Haikus

Based on Kieslowski's "Three Colors" trilogy:


Remember music...
Is composition loss or love?
Love’s more than one song.


Huh? Huh?? No! No! No!
OW! OW! OW! HEY! Oh. Hmm...


Brother, where art thou?
A retired judge, his muse
Oh, Coen Brothers, you’re toast.

copyright 2011 Dan Coffey

A Note on the Blog's Intent

To those of you who have recently been directed to this blog to get the playlists for the Papers for the Border podcast, I wanted to say that the podcast info is only one aspect of the blog. I also intend to post writings on literature, film, and music. So, when you see the next post, don't be taken aback.

Saturday, November 5, 2011

We have reached the borders of Poland

Someone on a Polish Peter Hammill forum had this to say regarding Podcast #8 (loosely translated through Google): "Hammill has some connection with the feast of "devil Satan?". There was a smiley face after the comment, which I'm pretty sure translates into English as a smiley face.

No, "Michael Sh.". That wasn't the point of the broadcast. Just going with the Halloween vibe. It was all in (serious) fun.

"Booty" replied with a comment to the effect that the playlist was interesting, so that's something.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Papers for the Border #8 ~ The "Hammillwe'en" Special

Podcast first uploaded/broadcast 10/30/11. Here is the link: (It's also available in the iTunes store.)

The new -- Halloween Edition -- of Papers for the Border is alive! Alive! Episode #8: Hammillwe'en. Where we spend just over two hours exploring the darker side of the dark side of the artist known as Peter Hammill. Depressing? Hell no! Spinetinglingly unsettling and perhaps a little disquieting? Right on! Enjoy!

There are many wordless pieces of music herein, but the lyrics of the songs that aren't can be found at the lyrics section of Peter Hammill's website.The program for this episode is as follows:
  1. Dark Matter (6:56) from the solo album Sonix (Fie, 1996)
  2. Darkness (11/11) (7:00) from the Van der Graaf Generator album The Least We Can Do Is Wave (Charisma, 1969)
  3. Fogwalking (4:05) from the solo album A Black Box (S-Type/Virgin, 1980)
  4. Gog / Magog (In Bromine Chambers) (17:40) from the solo album In Camera (Charisma, 1974)
  5. A Ritual Mask (3:53) from the solo album Loops and Reels (Fie, 1992)
  6. Masks (7:00) from the Van der Graaf Generator album World Record (Charisma, 1976)
  7. Usher: selections from the solo album The Fall of the House of Usher: Deconstructed and Rebuilt (Fie, 1999)**
      1. Architecture (Act Two) (3:40)
      2. The Sleeper (Act Two) (3:18)
      3. I Shun the Light (Act Two) (3:45)
      4. She Is Dead (Act Five) (6:43)
      5. Beating of the Heart (Act Six) (5:19)
      6. The Haunted Palace (Act Six) (4:21)
      7. I Dared Not Speak (Act Six) (2:56)
      8. She Comes Towards the Door (Act Six) (1:06)
      9. The Fall (Act Six) (3:19)
  1. The Bells The Bells (4:08) from the solo album Loops and Reels (Fie, 1992)
  2. The Tower (interlude from "In the Black Room") (2:44) from the solo album Chameleon in the Shadows of the Night (Charisma, 1972)
  3. White Dot (6:22) from the solo album Singularity (Fie, 2006)
  4. The Music of Erich Zann (24:58) Composed (1979) by John Geist (b. 1949) for quartet and narrator. Performed by Kronos Quartet with Peter Hammill at The Barbican, London, 22 July 1994. Text by H. P. Lovecraft.***
  5. The Wipe (1:51) from the solo album A Black Box (S-Type/Virgin, 1980)

* Loops and Reels was originally self-released by Hammill on cassette.

** The original Fall of the House of Usher album was released in 1991 on the Some Bizarre label.

***You can follow along with the text of  "The Music of Erich Zann" here